Official Name:

The University of Alabama


In 1819, the Congress of the United States donated 46,000 acres of land within the State of Alabama for the endowment of a seminary of learning. The General Assembly of Alabama created the Board of Trustees in 1821, and on April 18, 1831, the University was opened for the admission of students. On April 4, 1865, most of the University buildings were burned to the ground by a body of federal cavalry. Construction on new buildings began in April of 1869. On February 25, 1884, the federal government donated 22 sections of public land within the state to the University in restitution for buildings and equipment that were destroyed in 1865. The institution is located in Tuscaloosa, a west central Alabama city with 95,334 residents in a metro area of 235,628 (2013 estimate). In 2014 The University of Alabama acquired 118 acres which increased the size of our grounds to 1,143 acres.

Type of Control:

The State of Alabama chartered The University of Alabama (UA) with authority vested in a Board of Trustees that is self-perpetuating. The current Board elects new trustees from congressional districts, subject to confirmation by the State Senate.

Instructional Schools, Programs, and Degrees:

The instructional schools are: College of Arts and Sciences, Culverhouse College of Business, College of Communication and Information Sciences, College of Community Health Sciences, College of Continuing Studies, College of Education, College of Engineering, Graduate School, Honors College, College of Human Environmental Sciences, The University of Alabama School of Law, Capstone College of Nursing, and School of Social Work. UA offers 70 undergraduate degree programs, 76 master’s programs, 6 educational specialist programs, and 57 doctoral programs. In 2017-18, UA awarded 6,750 bachelor degrees, 1,681 master degrees, 22 educational specialist degrees, 290 doctoral degrees, and 138 professional degrees.


In 2018-19, there were 1,484 full-time faculty members, resulting in a student-to-faculty ratio of 22:1. Forty percent of full-time faculty members were tenured, and 81% held a terminal degree. Average salaries in 2018-19 were: $151,576 for full professors; $98,954 for associate professors; and $81,083 for assistant professors.


Fall 2018 enrollment totaled 38,392, which included 33,030 undergraduates, 4,916 graduate students, and 446 professional students; 89.6% of the undergraduates and 64.4% of the graduate students were enrolled on a full-time basis; 44% of the undergraduate students were male; 58% of the undergraduate students and 58% of the graduate and professional students were considered out-of-state students for tuition purposes, 20% of the undergraduate students and 21% of the graduate and professional students were minorities.


In the fall of 2018, 6,663 (30.2%) of all admitted first-time undergraduates enrolled. The average composite ACT score for enrolled full-time, first-time undergraduates was 27. Of the fall 2017 full-time, first-time undergraduates, 87.9% returned the following fall. The current 6-year graduation rate is 71.9% for the 2012 cohort.


In 2018-19, annual full-time undergraduate tuition was $10,780 for residents and $29,230 for non-residents. Room and board costs were approximately $13,402.


For 2017-18, total operating revenues were $875 million. Net non-operating revenues were $286.1 million, including $156.7 million from state appropriations. Total operating expenses were $1.06 billion.

Institutional Affiliations:

UA is a member of the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges (NASULGC) and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). In athletics, UA began football competition in 1892 and started NCAA Division I competition for men in 1906 and for women in 1974. UA is a member of the Southeastern Conference (SEC) for all sports.


The University Libraries provide collections, resources and technology to enhance the research, learning, and teaching activities of the University. The Libraries collections include over 4 million print volumes, over 500 online databases, and 1.4 million electronic books. In addition, the UA Libraries is a partner with HathiTrust, providing instant access to over 5 million full text scholarly volumes from libraries throughout the world. Students have access to five libraries in the University Library System. Gorgas Library is the main social sciences and humanities library, Rodgers Library serves science and engineering, Bruno Library serves business, and McLure Library serves education. Special collections include the A.S. Williams III Americana Collection and the William Stanley Hoole Special Collections. Special collections are rich in the American South and American Civil War and include manuscripts, photographs and other historical artifacts. Library faculty members offer classroom instruction and research consultations for all disciplines. Research assistance is available in person and online. Technology includes over 550 computers and 3D printing at both Rodgers and Gorgas Libraries. University Libraries also houses the Alabama Digital Humanities Center and the Sanford Media Center in Gorgas Library, as well as a state of the art learning commons in Rodgers Library and Gorgas Library. Over 150 academic software packages supplement the collections and are available on the libraries computers. Libraries across the campus are open extended hours during the academic year. Electronic resources are available to students 24/7 from any location. The UA Health Sciences Library and Bounds Law Library are the two other major libraries on campus.

Source: The Office of Institutional Research and Assessment and University Libraries